Kimi PPT, AiPPT or Gamma for defense slides

All three turn a prompt or a document into editable slides; they differ in templates, export and pricing. Defense slides add a requirement: figures and equations on each slide should come from your thesis, ordered the way a committee hears a defense. None of the three states that it extracts figures from your paper, and that is the focus of Acadwrite's academic slides.

Product details checked against each vendor's website, pricing page and help center on 22 October 2026. Numbers in brackets link to the sources at the end of the page.

Choose by the job in front of you

What you need to doStart withWhy
A good-looking general deck from one prompt, fastGamma400 credits on sign-up, up to 10 slides per prompt; the free plan exports PDF, PPTX, PNG and Google Slides; Plan mode shows the template and plan first.[7][8][9]
Pick a style from a large template libraryAiPPTOver 200,000 templates; the ¥119-a-year standard plan makes 30 decks a day and exports PPTX, PDF and images.[5]
Turn a long document into slides and edit the outline firstAiPPTImports documents up to 200,000 characters, Word up to 10 MB and PDF up to 30 MB, then generates an outline you can edit.[6]
Already a Kimi member and want a quick deckKimi PPTSlides share one quota pool with Kimi's other member features; it offers smart layout and classic template modes and can use your own template.[2][3]
Thesis or grant defense with figures and equations from the paperAcadwriteExtracts original figures, table data and equations from the uploaded paper onto the right slides, and draws schematics, frameworks and technical roadmaps for methods.[10]
Confirm what each slide says before it is madeAcadwriteThe outline lists each slide's point and evidence for you to confirm before slides are built, with page structures for 19 scenarios including thesis and grant defenses, proposals and group meetings.[10]
Change just one slide afterwardsAcadwriteEach slide is its own file: say what to change on slide N and only that slide changes; slides can also be inserted, deleted or reordered.[10]

Side by side

Grey text means the vendor's pages do not say. That does not mean the feature is missing.

Kimi PPT, AiPPT, Gamma and Acadwrite compared
Kimi PPT, AiPPT, Gamma and Acadwrite comparedKimi PPTAiPPTGammaAcadwrite
What you can give itA topic, or PDF, Word, PPTX, Excel, TXT and image uploads[2]A topic, link or document; documents up to 200,000 characters, Word 10 MB, PDF 30 MB[6]A topic, URL, or uploaded slides and documents; free plan imports PDF and PPTX[7][9]Papers and other PDFs, up to 5 files of 100 MB each[10]
Confirmation before generatingNot statedGenerates an outline first, editable in the outline window[6]Plan mode reviews the template and plan; Express goes straight to slides[9]An outline of each slide's point and evidence, confirmed before slides are built[10]
Where figures come fromNot statedNot statedNot statedOriginal figures, table data and equations from your material, plus schematics, frameworks and technical roadmaps[10]
TemplatesSmart layout or classic templates, or your own uploaded template[3][2]Over 200,000 templates[5]Not statedPage structures for 19 scenarios: thesis and grant defenses, proposals, group meetings, conferences and more[10]
ExportEditable PPTX[2][4]PPTX, PDF and images from the standard plan; Agent-area works currently download as PDF only[5][6]PDF, PPTX, PNG and Google Slides even on the free plan[7]Editable PPTX with editable text, images and tables[10]
PricingKimi membership from ¥49 to ¥1,399 a month in five tiers, shared with other features[1]Free: 2 a day, 6 in total; standard ¥119 a year, professional ¥1,999 a year[5]400 non-refreshing credits on sign-up; Plus $9 and Pro $18 a month billed yearly[7][8]Charged by actual use at ¥2 per credit
Size per runNot statedUnlimited slides on the professional plan[5]10 slides per prompt free, 100 on paid plans[8]Works best with PDFs of 10–40 pages[10]

Skills for the rest of the defense

Slides are only part of a defense. Rehearsing committee questions, writing proposals and grant applications, and drawing your research logic as structure diagrams each have skills written for academic work. They come from open-source projects on GitHub; enable them in the skill market and use them in workspace chats.

  • 23

    academic skills from 9 open-source projects, covering writing, polishing, review, verification and topic design

  • 54K

    stars for K-Dense scientific-agent-skills, source of 5 skills including documents and diagrams and grant proposals

  • 50K

    stars for nature-skills, source of 10 skills including simulated review and proposal writing

  • 70

    stars for nsfc-skills, source of the NSFC proposal skill

Star counts as shown on GitHub on 22 October 2026.

Rehearsing the defense

  • Nature simulated reviewused in paper review

    Three independent reviewers assess originality, significance and technical soundness with comments anchored to the text, useful for rehearsing committee questions.

    nature-skills
  • Critical appraisal of claims

    Examines design, bias and confounding and statistical misuse, grading evidence with GRADE and Cochrane risk-of-bias frameworks.

    K-Dense scientific-agent-skills

Proposals and grants

  • Research proposals

    Drafts proposals around an evidence table, argument map and section contracts, self-scores on 8 dimensions and softens claims the evidence cannot support.

    nature-skills
  • NSFC proposals

    For Young Scientists, General and Key programs: the scientific question, rationale, research plan, innovation, mock review and pre-submission checks.

    nsfc-skills

Diagrams and structure

  • Documents and diagrams

    Draws flows, sequences, timelines and concept hierarchies as Mermaid text diagrams, mindful of platform compatibility and the scientific meaning of each claim.

    K-Dense scientific-agent-skills
  • Paper reading card

    Breaks a paper into 16 fixed sections covering method modules and the evidence chain, useful for tracing your own thesis's storyline before a defense.

    nature-skills

See all 23 skills in the skill market

FAQ

Allowances and prices change often. Check each vendor's pricing page.

Kimi PPT, AiPPT or Gamma: which is best?

It depends on what you need. For a quick, good-looking general deck with free PPTX export, use Gamma; for lots of templates and turning long documents into slides with an editable outline, use AiPPT; if you already pay for Kimi, Kimi PPT is the simplest.

Is Kimi PPT free?

Kimi says there is a monthly free credit allowance for trying all features but gives no number. Memberships cost ¥49 to ¥1,399 a month in five tiers, and slides share a token-based quota pool with deep research and other features; unused quota does not roll over.

How many decks does AiPPT's free plan allow?

Two a day, six in total, with 1,000 AI credits on sign-up. The standard plan costs ¥119 a year for 30 a day and exports PPTX, PDF and images.

Can these tools use the figures in my thesis for defense slides?

None of the three states that it extracts original figures and equations from your paper. Acadwrite extracts images, table data and equations from your material onto the right slides, and draws schematics and technical roadmaps for methods and workflows.

How does Acadwrite charge for slides?

You sign in before starting. Slides are made in a workspace and charged by actual use at ¥2 per credit, with trial credits for new users.

Sources

All pages accessed on 22 October 2026.

  1. [1]Kimi:Help center: membership pricing
  2. [2]Kimi:Help center: PPT assistant overview
  3. [3]Kimi:Help center: creation modes
  4. [4]Kimi:Help center: PPT troubleshooting
  5. [5]AiPPT:Pricing on the homepage
  6. [6]AiPPT:Help center
  7. [7]Gamma:Pricing
  8. [8]Gamma:How can I upgrade my Gamma subscription?
  9. [9]Gamma:How do I create a new presentation?
  10. [10]Acadwrite:Defense slide generator

Upload your thesis and get slides in the order a defense runs.

Start defense slides